Memories of the Gran Fondo

Now that I have had some time to recover I thought about how great the Pinarello Gran Fondo was.  I came in 1066th place which is not too bad….I guess.  As I mentioned before this was much tougher than I expected.  When we started yesterday’s ride I noticed my saddle bag was gone..one of the casualties of the bumpy ride.  Good thing I did not have any flats I guess.  I did remember hearing some things bouncing around on some bumpy descents however I was too focused on staying upright to check anything out.  The other thing that was interesting was the funny feeling I had in my ankle at kilometre 120.  I was on a descent and it felt like my ankle was on fire….now normally your ankles don’t catch on fire but I was wearing an electronic race trip which is used to measure the amount of time it takes to do the race.  Anyhow I quickly glanced down to ensure my burning ankle was not burning my Prince of Spain bike and noticed (with relief) that I was not on fire but was under attack by a bumble bee.  Too afraid to remove my hands from the handlebars I had to sit patiently flying down this hill while the bee proceeded to sting me.  It hurt and actually still hurts as my ankle has swollen which makes for tough riding.

P7190766

P7190760

Kim before the Pinrello Gran Fondo

 

 

 

 

 

P7200805

 

Kim after the Pinarello Gran Fondo

This entry was posted in ICC 2009 - Cycling Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

